New School Teachers’ Review Body chairperson announced

12 August 2014

Dr Patricia Rice has been announced as the new chairperson of the School Teacher’s Review Body (STRB). She is a senior research fellow at Oxford University and the Associate Head for Research in its Department of Economics. Her specialism is in labour economics.

New Ofsted chairperson announced

5 August 2014

The Department for Education has announced the long-awaited replacement for Baroness Sally Morgan as chairperson of Ofsted. From September 2014, it will be David Hoare, who is currently a trustee of the Academies Enterprise Trust and chairperson of the Teenage Cancer Trust.

Disadvantaged pupils may get priority places under revised admissions code

1 August 2014

The Department for Education is consulting on a draft admissions code that would allow all maintained schools in England to prioritise places for the poorest children in their area. This means they would be able to give first choice on places to pupils who are eligible for the pupil premium.