Last reviewed 4 July 2022

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs is seeking evidence on the use and the potential impact of two substances that their addition to the UK REACH Authorisation List could have.

The Health and Safety Executive provided a recommendation to the Defra Secretary of State that disodium octaborate and dicyclohexyl phthalate are priority substances for inclusion on Annex 14 of UK REACH (the Authorisation List). The Secretary of State, and Welsh and Scottish Ministers must now make a decision on whether it should be added to the Authorisation List. That would mean that prior authorisation would be needed to use either substance, or place them on the market, after the specified sunset date.

Disodium octaborate and dicyclohexyl phthalate have been classified as substances of very high concern due to their risk to human health. To provide evidence on either substance, complete the relevant survey via the links by 12 August 2022.