• The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates at the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, consisting of Abu Dhabi (the capital), Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain.

  • Dubai has 35% of the UAE’s population and Abu Dhabi 31%. The total population of the UAE is approximately 9.3 million, with migrant workers comprising 80%.

  • Each emirate is governed by an absolute monarch; together, they jointly form the Federal Supreme Council. One of the monarchs (traditionally the Emir of Abu Dhabi) is selected as the President of the UAE.

  • The presidency and the prime ministership are essentially hereditary.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat