British citizens are exempt from immigration control — they can automatically settle and work in the UK.

On 31 January 2020, the UK formally left the EU with a formalised and finalised withdrawal agreement. There was a transition period until 31 December 2020 during which the EU’s rules on freedom of movement continued to apply. Therefore, EEA nationals (that is, EU citizens plus those from Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) had an automatic right (that is, without the need for a visa) to work in the UK. If they wanted to continue to work in the UK after the transition period, they had to apply for pre-settled or settled status under the EU Settled Status Scheme (EUSS) by 30 June 2021.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat