From September 2021, all early years provisions in England must follow the revised Early Years Foundation Stage Framework developed by the Government. This includes a learning and development curriculum of seven key areas.

The three prime areas of learning are the following.

  1. Communication and language.

  2. Physical development.

  3. Personal, social and emotional development.

The four specific areas of learning are the following.

  1. Literacy.

  2. Mathematics.

  3. Understanding the world.

  4. Expressive arts and design.


Children are expected to achieve a number of goals by the end of the academic year in which they reach the age of five. The early learning goals for physical development are as follows.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat