From September 2021, all early years provisions in England must follow the revised Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS) developed by the Government. This includes a learning and development curriculum of seven key areas.

The three prime areas of learning are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development.

The four specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design.


Children are expected to achieve a number of goals by the end of the academic year in which they reach the age of five. For personal, social and emotional development, these are as follows.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat