As of April 2017 all early years provisions must follow the revised Early Years Foundation Stage Framework developed by the Government. This includes a learning and development curriculum of seven key areas.

The three prime areas of learning are the following.

  1. Personal, social and emotional development.

  2. Communication and language.

  3. Physical development.

The four specific areas of learning are the following.

  1. Literacy.

  2. Mathematics.

  3. Understanding the world.

  4. Expressive arts and design.


Children are expected to achieve a number of goals by the end of the academic year in which they reach the age of five. The early learning goals for mathemetics are as follows.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Talk to us on

live chat

Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199