England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland operate a tiered regulatory system for the control of industrial activities that fall under the Environmental Permitting Programme (EPP) in England and Wales and Pollution Prevention and Control regime (PPC) in Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Industrial activities are classified as either higher-risk, which are regulated by the national environmental regulators, or intermediate and lower-risk activities which are regulated by local councils in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat