Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) checks are needed for jobs that involve working or volunteering directly with children or vulnerable adults.

The DBS is the merged organisation of the Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) and the Independent Safeguarding Authority (ISA) and is part of the Home Office.

There are four levels of check: basic DBS check, standard, enhanced, and enhanced with a children’s and/or adults barred list check, and these can be kept up to date using the DBS update service.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat