Health and safety laws in Australia are enacted by the Commonwealth, each of the six states and the two internal territories. There are nine general health and safety statutes.

In 2009 a Model Work Health and Safety Act, regulations and Codes of Practice were passed. These have been adopted by all states and territories except Victoria and Western Australia. There are some variations in legal requirements and enforcement and separate legislation for health and safety in the mining industry in some states.

The key legislation is the Work Health and Safety Act 2011.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat