The Special Educational Needs and Disability Code of Practice identifies four broad areas of need: communication and interaction; cognition and learning; social, emotional and mental health difficulties; and sensory and/or physical needs. These categories are not mutually exclusive, however, and should only be used as a guide. Many pupils will have needs that span more than one category and support must be tailored accordingly.

This topic describes the specific conditions covered by each of these areas and how pupils with them can be supported. Further information about supporting pupils with disabilities can be found in the Pupil Equality and Disabled Access and Facilities topics.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Talk to us on

live chat

Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199