1 April 2014

The Government’s ambition to create a new drug drive limit has moved a step closer after the Department for Transport (DfT) published the results of two public consultations which it held in 2013.

The recommended limits for 16 different drugs have now been approved and this means that eight generally prescription and eight illicit drugs will be added into new regulations that will come into force in the autumn of this year.

The new rules will mean it will be an offence to be over the generally prescribed limits for each drug if you are driving a vehicle, as it is with drink driving.

The illicit drugs to be included in the new regulations are: Benzoylecgonine; Cocaine; Delta–9–Tetrahydrocannabinol (Cannabis and Cannabinol); Ketamine; LSD; Methylamphetamine; Methylenedioxymethaphetamine (MDMA — Ecstasy); and 6-Monoacetylmorphine (6-MAM — Heroin and Morphine).

The drugs which are generally available on prescription and which will come under the new drug-driving rules are: Clonazepam; Diazepam; Flunitrazepam; Lorazepam; Methadone; Morphine; Oxazepam; and Temazepam.

With regard to amphetamine, the Government has decided that the proposed limits need to be reconsidered so that patients who take medicine for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder are not affected.

It will therefore look to re-consult on the new threshold later this year, with an agreed limit added in to the legislation at a later date.