Republic bordered by seven other countries: Belarus (north), Russia (north and east), Romania and Moldova (south-west), Hungary, Slovakia and Poland (west).


The official language is Ukrainian. It is used in western and central Ukraine although Russian is also used elsewhere and is widely understood. The Cyrillic alphabet is used. Understanding a little about the Cyrillic alphabet (both upper and lower case) and the equivalent Roman characters will help with identifying street names and road signs.

International Direct Dialling Codes

00 380


Capital: Kiev

Principal Ports

Kerch, Odessa and Sevastopol

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

220V, 50Hz

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat