Republic linking Europe and Asia, bounded by the Aegean Sea on the west, the Black Sea on the north, and the Mediterranean on the south. One of the OECD countries, Turkey has a customs union with the EU.


The official language is Turkish with Kurdish spoken by a minority in the south east of the country.

International Direct Dialling Code

00 90

International Country Code



Capital: Ankara

Principal Ports

Iskenderun, Istanbul, Izmir, Mersin, Samsun, Trabzon, Antalya

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

230V, 50Hz


The unit of currency is the Lira (TRY). The exchange rate is £1 = 10.2 Lira (fluctuating).

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat