The Russian Federation straddles Europe and Asia. It has coastlines on the Arctic Ocean, Pacific Ocean, Caspian Sea and Black Sea. It is bordered by Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus and Ukraine in the west, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia and China in the south and east.


The official language is Russian and the Cyrillic alphabet is used. Understanding a little about the Cyrillic alphabet and the equivalent Roman characters will help with identifying street names and road signs.

International Direct Dialling Code

00 7

International Country Code



Capital: Moscow

Principal Ports

St Petersburg, Arkhangelsk, Kaliningrad, Murmansk, Novorossiysk, Vladivostok

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat