Constitutional monarchy occupying western half of the Scandinavian Peninsula; bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean and on the east by Sweden, Finland and the Russian Federation. One of the OECD countries. Member of EFTA and the EEA.


The official language is Norwegian. English is frequently understood.

International Direct Dialling Code

00 47

International Country Code



Capital: Oslo

Principal Ports

Bergen, Bodo, Drammen, Fredrikstad, Haugesund, Kristiansand, Larvik, Narvik, Oslo, Sandefjord, Stavanger, Trondheim, Tromso

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

230V, 50Hz


The unit of currency is the Krone (NOK).

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat