Constitutional monarchy in Western Europe; bounded on the north and west by the North Sea, on the east by Germany and on the south by Belgium. One of the OECD countries. Member of the Benelux Customs Union, EU and the European Economic Area (EEA). Following the dissolution of the former Netherlands Antilles and its incorporation into the Kingdom of the Netherlands, this country page now also gives information about Aruba, Bonaire, CuraƧao, Sint Maarten, Saba and St Eustatius.


The official language is Dutch. English is frequently understood.

International Direct Dialling Code

00 31

International Country Code



Capital: Amsterdam (The Hague is the seat of government)

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat