Constitutional monarchy in NW Europe consisting of peninsula of Jutland, the two islands of Zealand and Funen, a number of smaller islands, and the Faroe Islands and Greenland. One of the OECD countries. Member of the EU and the EEA.


Danish, Faroese, Greenlandic (an Inuit dialect), German (small minority). English is the predominant second language.

International Direct Dialling Code

00 45

International Country Code



Capital: Copenhagen

Principal Ports

Aalborg, Aarhus, Copenhagen, Esbjerg, Fredericia, Gedser, Grenaa, Helsingør, Køge, Odense, Rødby, Struer.

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

230V, 50Hz


1 Danish krone (DKK) = 100 oere.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat