The Kingdom of Belgium is a country in northwest Europe. It is one of the OECD countries, and a member of the Benelux Customs Union, the EU and the European Economic Area (EAA).


The official languages are Dutch or Flemish (broadly north of Brussels) and French (to the south), and a little German is spoken in the vicinity of the eastern border. English is frequently understood and sometimes used to overcome local language barriers.

International Direct Dialling Codes


International Country Code



Capital: Brussels (capital), Antwerp, Ghent, Charleroi, Li├Ęge, Bruges and the ports of Zeebrugge and Ostende

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

230V, 50Hz

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat