Special Notice

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development (FCDO) advises against all travel to Yemen. This includes the mainland and all the islands.



Independent republic in the Middle East bordered by Saudi Arabia on the north, by Oman in the east, and the Red Sea on the west and south. It includes the islands of Perim, Socotra, Kamaran, and the Coria-Moria Islands.


Capital: Sanaa

Principal Ports

Aden, Hodeidah, Mokha, Mukalla


29.2 million

International Country Code



Arabic (English understood)

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

230V, 50Hz

International Direct Dialling Codes

Republic of Yemen: 00 967

Republic of Yemen: 00 967 1

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat