Special Notice

July 2018

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office advises caution when travelling in the Casamance region to the west of Kolda.



Situated on the most western point of West Africa, the Republic of Senegal is bounded on the north by the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, on the east by the Republic of Mali, on the south by the Republic of Guinea and Guinea-Bissau and on the west by the Atlantic Ocean. It also encloses The Gambia. An Associate Member of the EU.


Capital: Dakar

Principal Ports

Dakar, Kaolack, Matam, Podor, Richard Toll, Saint-Louis, Ziguinchor


15.9 million

International Country Code



French, Wolof, Pulaar, Jola, Mandinka

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat