Constitutional monarchy in Western Europe; bounded on the north and west by the North Sea, on the east by Germany and on the south by Belgium. One of the OECD countries. Member of the Benelux Customs Union, EU and the European Economic Area (EEA). Following the dissolution of the former Netherlands Antilles and its incorporation into the Kingdom of the Netherlands, this country page now also gives information about Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Saba and St Eustatius.


Capital: Amsterdam (The Hague is the seat of government)

Principal Ports

Amsterdam, Hook of Holland, Rotterdam, Scheveningen, Vlissingen


17.01 million

International Country Code


Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Talk to us on

live chat

Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199