Special Notice

February 2019

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) advises against all but essential travel to the districts of Palma, Mocimboa de Praia and Macomia in Cabo Delgado province due to an increase in attacks by groups with links to Islamic extremism. This advice does not apply to islands off the coast of Mozambique.



The Republic of Mozambique is bounded on the north by Tanzania, on the west by Zambia, Zimbabwe and Malawi, on the west and south by Swaziland and South Africa, and on the east by the Indian Ocean.


Capital: Maputo

Principal Ports

Beira, Maputo, Inhambane, Nacala, Pemba, Quelimane


29.7 million

International Country Code


Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat