Independent island republic in the Eastern Mediterranean. Following Turkey’s occupation of the northern part of the island in 1974, the country is divided into the southern part, controlled by the internationally-recognised government of the Republic of Cyprus, and the northern part, run by the self-styled Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which is recognised only by Turkey. The following information relates only to the southern part of the country, which is a member of the Commonwealth and the EU.


Capital: Nicosia

Principal Ports

Lemesos (formerly Larnaca), Limassol


1.17 million

International Country Code



Greek, Turkish, English

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199