British group of islands off the northwest coast of France. The four main islands are Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney and Sark. The smaller populated islands are Herm, Jethou, Brechou and Lihou. They are Scheduled Territories and associate members of the EU, within the EU Customs area, but outside its fiscal (VAT) area.

Principal Ports

Jersey: St Helier; Guernsey: St Peter Port



International Country Codes

Jersey: JE

Guernsey: GG


English, French

Emergency Services

The emergency telephone number is 999.

Weights and Measures

Metric system

Electricity Supply

230V, 50Hz

Direct Dialling Codes

Jersey: 01534

Guernsey: 01481

Alderney: 01481

Sark: 01481


: GMT.

: GMT.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat