Special Notice

May 2019

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office advises against all but essential travel to within 20km of the border with Liberia.



The Republic of Côte d’Ivoire (formerly known as Ivory Coast) is an independent state in West Africa. Formerly a member of the French Community, it is an Associate Member of the EU through the Lome Convention and a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).


Capital: Yamoussoukro (Administrative), Abidjan (Economic)

Principal Ports

Abidjan, San-Pedro


24.3 million

International Country Code



French, plus 60 native dialects with Dioula the most widely spoken.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat