Special Notice

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) advises against all but essential travel to:

  • Rakhine State, except the southern townships (administrative areas similar to a borough or county) of Munaung, Thandwe (including the tourist resort of Ngapali) and Gwa

  • Paletwa township in southern Chin State

  • Shan State (North)

  • Kachin State (except the towns of Myitkyina, Bhamo and Putao)

  • the remainder of Myanmar based on the current assessment of Covid-19 risks.



Independent republic in southeast Asia.


Capital: Yangon (formerly Rangoon)

Principal Ports

Yangon (Rangoon)


56.6 million

International Country Code



Burmese, English widely understood

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No Subscription?


Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Book a demo
Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199

Talk to us on

live chat