Special Notice

May 2018

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office advises against all travel to areas within:

  • 30km of the borders with Libya, Mauritania, Mali and Niger

  • 30km of the border with Tunisia in the provinces of Illizi and Ouargla, and in the Chaambi mountains area.

It also advises against all but essential travel to within 30km of the remainder of the border with Tunisia.



Republic in North Africa on the Mediterranean coast bordered by the Western Sahara, Morocco, Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Libya and Tunisia.


Capital: Algiers (El Djezeir)

Principal Ports

Algiers, Oran, Béjaïa, Annaba, Djendjene, Skikda, Arzew, Mostaganem, Jijel


41.7 million

International Country Code


Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.

Talk to us on

live chat

Call an Expert:

0800 231 5199